Russell and Duenes

How much does the U.S. health care system affect foreign systems?

with 3 comments

Many people laud the government sponsored health care systems in countries like Canada, Britain, France, Sweden, et al. But here’s a question: What will these  foreign nationalized health care systems look like once the U.S. system is nationalized as well? Does a freer U.S. system allow these other countries to obtain health resources, machinery, and drugs at a lower cost than they’d be able to get them without our system. I can’t believe that Canada’s system, for example, will be nearly as effective at actually healing people and getting them low cost drugs without our more free market health industry down here. Just another aspect of the health care “debate” that isn’t really being debated in the public square.

-D

Written by Michael Duenes

July 20, 2009 at 10:45 pm

Posted in Duenes, Economics

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is off topic, mostly, so apologies for that. You’ve been writing so much in opposition to the Obama agenda. That’s understandable, and often I agree with your points partially or in whole, but I think you’re missing a bigger opportunity.

    Now is the time to start considering who you want to elect in 2016 (or have a try with in 2012). Just thinking about that question is going to bring up a more fundamental issue. The Republican Party has lost its majority and seems to be in a state of collapse. What national party is going to get your 2016 (or 2012) fantasy candidate elected? How is this party going to build a majority? If it’s the Republican Party, what changes and cleansing are in order?

    I hope you don’t think I’m being irritating. I don’t mean you should stop criticizing, but I’d like to also see more of your actual vision for the future. In my opinion, I think a realistic vision needs to take into account the decimated landscape of so-called conservative politics. (BTW, you recently commented on my Facebook page about my “no” vote on the Sarah Palin poll. Although my “no” vote isn’t surprising, truly I’m interested in seeing a viable Republican Party that has a strong platform and a chance in 2012 or 2016. The best way to ruin that chance is for the RP’s to nominate Palin for POTUS or VP — IMO.)

    Now I don’t have a vision for the future of the RP’s or the Dems either, and I’m not prepared to back up my impression that the RP Party is a decimated landscape. My point is that I’d like to know more of your vision and how you think it will work in practice.

    As for your post, I think it’s a good point.

    Andy

    July 21, 2009 at 1:26 am

    • Thanks for this comment, Andy. It’s funny, I was just thinking today about a post I was going to write about how the Republicans, and many conservatives in general, have really dropped the ball on health care. I’m not in favor of the Dems plans, but frankly, the Republicans have had their heads in the sand for way too long now. No wonder no one is listening to them. They are not offering a compelling alternative. I will consider your questions and write something about it.

      -D

      russellandduenes

      July 22, 2009 at 1:07 am

  2. these are really good questions to be considering. As someone who is more sympathetic to a public health option (not obama’s plan), these are really good things to be asking…and no one is! found this post really helpful.

    humanitasremedium

    July 21, 2009 at 8:17 pm


Leave a Reply

