Russell and Duenes

Seeking beauty in music

leave a comment »

Last week my older sister gave me a copy of Fathered by God, by John Eldredge. Having read Wild at Heart, and wanting to think ever more wisely about what it means to be a man, I have been working my way through the book. Eldredge’s discussion of beauty hit home. He says that “we must open our hearts to all the other ways God is bringing beauty into our lives. The beauty of a flower garden or moonlight on water, the beauty of music or a written word. Our souls crave Beauty, and if we do not find it we will be famished. We must take in Beauty, often, or we will be taken out by beauty…Not duty, Not merely discipline. But an awakening of our hearts to the Beauty and Love of God.”

In light of this, though it may seem a bit contrived and artificial, I decided that I would only listen to classical music for the next month. I’ve always enjoyed certain composers, though I’m certainly a total novice when it comes to classical music. But I don’t want to listen to classical music simply for the sake of having it on. I want to listen to it this month with new ears. I have a background in music, so I know a good bit of what’s going on musically as I listen. I want to hear the intricacies, the 2nd and 3rd parts, the various woodwinds, brass, and strings, the variations in time and key. I want to feel the different moods and emotions the music is producing. So I’ve begun this morning by listening to a piece I already enjoy, Bach’s Orchestral Suite No.3 in D Major. I’m looking forward to my little experiment. I’ll let you know what I discover.

-D

Written by Michael Duenes

August 1, 2009 at 6:17 pm

Posted in Duenes, Music, Reflections

Leave a Reply

