Russell and Duenes

Is my Baby a Possession or do I Possess “it?”

leave a comment »

Reality star Kourtney Kardashian and her boyfriend recently found out that Kardashian was pregnant. I found Kardashian’s thought process regarding “keeping” the baby or aborting the baby hard to wrap my mind around. Though, for now, she has decided to keep the baby, it seemed to have been quite a struggle to come to this decision. Kardashian said: “For me, all the reasons why I wouldn’t keep the baby were so selfish: It wasn’t like I was raped, it’s not like I’m 16. I’m 30 years old, I make my own money, I support myself, I can afford to have a baby. And I am with someone who I love, and have been with for a long time.” What this statement clearly says is that Kardashian, and most likely many other women in her position, consider legitimate reasons for ending a life to be: age of the mother and/or lack of money, support and love. I wonder how many young mothers of toddlers would agree that age appropriateness should be a factor in whether their toddlers should remain alive. Or how many poor people, depressed people and those with relationship problems would feel right about terminating the life of their teenage son or daughter because of their current financial or relational states. Why is Kardashian’s reasoning, or lack thereof, not unlike millions of women around the world? It seems to be due to a horrific view of what children really are to them: possessions.

Let’s replace a few key words in Kardashian’s statement and see where they take us. “For me, all the reasons why I wouldn’t keep the SPORTS CAR were so selfish: It wasn’t like I was FORCED INTO BUYING IT, it’s not like I’m 16. I’m 30 years old, I make my own money, I support myself, I can afford to have a SPORTS CAR. And I am with someone who I love, and have been with for a long time.”

I am troubled…

-R

Written by Michael Duenes

August 19, 2009 at 6:37 pm

Posted in Russell

Leave a Reply

