Russell and Duenes

I’m bogged by my blogs

with 11 comments

I haven’t blogged on this site in a while; mostly because I have been inundated with conflicted thoughts about blogging. If you are a regular “attendee” here at RussellandDuenes, you will quickly realize that my compatriot is a much more dedicated blogger than I. For me, it can seem beneficial to have interactions with people who may visit this site. On the other hand, I feel as if this whole blogging notion is set on my desire to pursue some sort of selfish gain, to have an independent voice in my own tightly constructed world.

Now, I don’t think my blogging is approval seeking. Frankly, I like when people disagree with me (thanks for this Andy). But even in the disagreements, there is a chance to continue to assert “the self.” And though blogging can be justified in many ways, one thing remains constant: my blogging is, and by its nature must be, self -absorbed.  I don’t know how many bloggers feel this way. I can imagine that some reading this, who also blog or tweet, might say that they have other motivations for writing- all of which could never be deemed self-centered (and though this might be true, I would question their own self-awareness instead).  I suppose that other bloggers who expose their  thoughts to the world, or in my case an average of 5-10 people per day, might have more reasons to write.

I’m just not sure about blogging. I now have to determine if the ends justify the means.

 -R

Written by Michael Duenes

September 15, 2009 at 3:35 am

Posted in Reflections, Russell

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wise words. I have been thinking about a lot of the same stuff. Let me know where you land on this one.

    humanitas remedium

    September 15, 2009 at 8:56 pm

  2. Here’s my thought: You should write because, frankly, you’re damn good at it and I love reading your stuff. Who cares if anyone reads it? I assume you enjoy it. If you don’t enjoy it, stop. But I’ll tell you what, I enjoy it. Gifts are meant to be shared, and you have one. My vote is that you share it, and share it regularly. If you’re seeking approval, confess it and keep moving forward. But as the children’s song says, “This little light of mine; I’m gonna let it shine.” Let it shine, baby, let it shine.

    -D

    russellandduenes

    September 16, 2009 at 5:44 am

    • D,
      I appreciate your thoughts. I really don’t feel as if I need approval and I certainly don’t want pity. I am simply questioning whether or not the “act of blogging” is inherently selfish. I realize that God created humans to be used by Him in many vocal outlets: Evangelism, the pastorate, teaching, etc. But blogging seems different. It may not be, but it often feels that way as I prepare to write. With this blog, I simply wanted to be honest and write out my concerns. I felt it might prove cathartic.
      -R

      russellandduenes

      September 16, 2009 at 6:42 am

  3. interesting thoughts my friend. I tend to agree with the confusion on the matter.

    craig

    September 16, 2009 at 5:53 am

  4. Have you seen the movie, “Julie & Julia,” Mr. Russell? It totally had the same idea throughout the whole movie about blogging (well, that and cooking and obsession and all that other good stuff). In that case, it was obsessive and completely and utterly selfish. The main character thrived off of the comments she got and the “fans” she had.

    As for blogging itself, I think it really depends on your motives. Like, what’s the intent? I guess it really depends on what you’re writing down that makes it selfish or not, in my opinion. I mean, I doubt too many people actually care when a blog says something about what they had for dinner or how they did their laundry…

    Yeah, I dunno. I’m thinking in circles. 🙂

    Neala

    September 16, 2009 at 8:21 am

    • I haven’t seen “Julie and Julia” (I was never a fan of Julia Childs). I can surely see where you are coming from though. I wonder if personal motivation isn’t derived from “the self” as well.
      I appriciate when you respond- either in circles or squares:)

      -R

      russellandduenes

      September 18, 2009 at 6:08 pm

  5. I struggle with blogging too, though more for reasons of feeling like “Why should I write something if I don’t have anything original or worthwhile to say?” While it’s great in one sense that anyone can have a blog, in another sense, it’s overwhelming, because then there are no filters that weed out the bad blogs. Blogging can easily become a numbers game for some, where you feel like you need to keep on producing material for fear of losing your few readers. But I also know that there are certain people whose blogs I read, and sometimes it’s even about really mundane things like some woman in Arkansas who has a baby and dresses her up in the biggest bows and froo-froo dresses you’ve ever seen. Why should I even care about a blog like that? I think part of it is that the spirit of the mother comes through her daily life, and somehow, it can affect my spirit in a positive way.

    I will throw this in there, though – I like your posts a lot, and hope you continue to write them, even if it’s at a much slower rate. No pressure, write when you want!

    Jenni

    September 17, 2009 at 2:21 am

    • Jenni,

      Thank you for your kind words. Blogging is tough for me even aside from my thoughts about “the self.” There is so much to talk about but I am not always fully “enraptured” in the topic. It seems to me that if I only have mild interest in a topic, I will create the mundane reading you are talking about. On the other hand, when I want to blog and have interest, I don’t have the words. Or, more often, I have the words and don’t have the desire to write or time to do so.

      -R

      russellandduenes

      September 18, 2009 at 6:16 pm

  6. I get what you’re saying. I sometimes feel very self-absorbed when I’m blogging, especially compared to those moments when I’m sitting face to face with someone, asking questions, and genuinely caring about their answers. The pleasure of the latter (though it takes effort) is so much greater than the former that I sometimes get depressed when typing as I wonder what I’m missing. Jesus changed the world by getting face to face with people.

    And I’m glad you appreciate my disagreements. 😉

    Andy

    September 19, 2009 at 1:09 pm

  7. BTW, would it change things if you had 1000 readers a day?

    Andy

    September 19, 2009 at 1:10 pm

    • Andy,
      I have thought about this a lot. If we had a tremendous readership, I feel I may convince myself that what I am writing has more value to others. But, at the same time, I am almost certain I would still be struggling with question of whether or not I am writing for the purpose of self-assertion.
      -R

      russellandduenes

      September 19, 2009 at 5:28 pm


Leave a Reply

