Russell and Duenes

Bullying and Boyhood

with one comment

At school we’ve recently addressed the issue of bullying. We’re not alone in this; it has become a hot topic in schools everywhere. But I had a question as I thought about it more, particularly as I thought about bullying and boys. There can be no doubt that boys on their proper progress toward manhood require a certain amount of physicality, in a way that girls don’t. Boys horseplay because, well, they’re boys, and boys need that kind of rough-housing; first from their fathers and then with their peers. But I wonder if we are coming to a place where all such physical contact between boys (except when playing sports) is considered either of two things: bullying or homo-eroticism. I’m no advocate of bullying. In fact, I despise it. It makes my blood boil when I see some guy who thinks he’s tough or cool picking on some other boy he considers to be a weakling or a wuss. But where is the line between this kind of bullying and healthy physical and verbal banter between boys? I’m not saying I know the answer, but I think we’ve certainly swung to the side of shutting down masculinity, and that’s not good for anybody.

I’d love to have others weigh in.

-D

Written by Michael Duenes

November 16, 2010 at 8:22 pm

Posted in Duenes, Reflections

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great post.

    Joshua House

    November 17, 2010 at 8:21 am


Leave a Reply

