Russell and Duenes

You’re Only A Christian Because People Were Nice To You

with 2 comments

An acquaintance of mine once told me this. He was a radical skeptic toward the Bible, taking almost none of it to be true, and certainly did not believe it was divinely inspired. He kept trying to shoot holes in my confidence in the Scriptures with his ridiculous and fanciful. But what was most disingenuous was his assertion that I only became a Christian because other Christians treated me well, for according to him, I most certainly could not have become one because the Scriptures are true and I was persuaded by them. I got to thinking about this the other day, and aside from the arrogant presumption it contains, I was struck by the historical ignorance – or should I call it willful historical blindness – it conveys.

My mind surveyed a very few Christians down through the ages: Augustine, a complete mental lightweight, he; Anselm, never one to use his mind; Aquinas, what an idiot, surely only believed because people were nice to him; Tyndale, could barely read, eh, went to the stake because of all that kind treatment he got from Christians; Sir Isaac Newton, what a rube to believe in the Scriptures, must’ve been all those nice Christians that got him to abandon reason and logic; Luther, Calvin, Owen, Edwards, Spurgeon, Warfield, Hodge, Van Til, Machen, Lloyd-Jones, Barth, Schaeffer, Bahnsen, Plantinga, Fee, and Carson…a bunch of yokels who, but for Christians being nice to them, would never have believed in the truth of Scripture.

Heh!

-D

Written by Michael Duenes

December 14, 2010 at 10:06 pm

Posted in Duenes, Reflections

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Interesting though, that in Confessions Book V.xiii Augustine confesses to first liking Bishop Ambrose not for his teaching but for his kindness.

    It would be a strange Christian creature that could not confess the kindness and attraction of other Christians in their own move towards living Christian faith.

    David Shedden

    December 16, 2010 at 3:05 am

    • David – I agree with you. My point is not that Christian kindness has no effect on whether one becomes a Christian. I was refuting the notion, promulgated by my acquaintance, that my becoming a Christian can be attributed solely to Christian kindness; and further, that had I seriously thought about the Scriptures, I would no doubt end up a radical skeptic such as he. To which I say: Hogwash!

      -D

      russell and duenes

      December 16, 2010 at 8:40 pm


Leave a Reply

