Russell and Duenes

When God Is Determined to Judge

leave a comment »

God has said to us, “All day long I have held out my hands to a disobedient and obstinate people.” God tells us again and again, “I am gracious and merciful, slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love.” Again and again God is patient with us. So how deep must our offense run for God to finally say,

“As for you, do not pray for this people, or lift up a cry or prayer for them, and do not intercede with me, for I will not hear you” (Jer.7:16)

“Therefore do not pray for this people, or lift up a cry or prayer on their behalf, for I will not listen when they call to me in the time of their trouble” (Jer.11:14)

“The LORD said to me: ‘Do not pray for the welfare of this people'” (Jer.14:11)

“For thus says the LORD: Do not enter the house of mourning, or go to lament or grieve for them, for I have taken away my peace from this people, my steadfast love and mercy, declares the LORD” (Jer.16:5)

Dear Lord, let us let release the death-grip we have upon our idols, before you should say to us, “Do not pray for this people.”

-D

Written by Michael Duenes

January 28, 2011 at 11:38 pm

Posted in Duenes, Reflections

Leave a Reply

