Russell and Duenes

An Abortion Doctor Who Changed His Mind

with one comment

My wife drew my attention to an obituary for Dr. Bernard Nathanson in the New York Times today. I can’t say that I’d heard of him, though I ought to have, he having presided over some 60,000 abortions and also being one of the founders of NARAL, perhaps the most radically pro-abortion group in America. The entire obituary is quite compelling, but here are a few choice thoughts from the doctor.

“On a gut, emotional level, I still favored abortion,” he told New York magazine in 1987. “It represented all the things we had fought for and won. It seemed eminently more civilized than the carnage that had gone on before.” But, he added, “it was making less and less sense to me intellectually.”

“If pro-choice advocates think that they’re going to see the fetus happily sliding down the suction tube waving and smiling as it goes by, they’re in for a truly paralyzing shock.”

“I know every facet of abortion,” he wrote in his memoir, adding, “I helped nurture the creature in its infancy by feeding it great draughts of blood and money; I guided it through its adolescence as it grew fecklessly out of control.”

I have added his book: The Hand of God:A Journey from Death to Life by the Abortion Doctor Who Changed His Mind to my reading list.

-D

Written by Michael Duenes

February 21, 2011 at 8:33 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nathanson described in his first book the Gosnellesque characters legalized abortion attracted. Too bad nobody but the prolifers listened.

    Christina

    February 22, 2011 at 7:05 am


Leave a Reply

