Russell and Duenes

For What Do We Labor?

leave a comment »

As I prepare to head off to law school, I have been reflecting on my motivations and intentions. And as I do, these are some of the Scriptures that I have in my heart and mind:

“Why spend money on what is not bread, and labor for that which does not satisfy? Listen, listen to me and each what is good, and your soul will delight in the richest of fare.” (Isaiah 55:2)

“Jesus said, ‘Do not labor for the food that spoils, but for the food that endures to eternal life, which the Son of man will give you.'” (John 6:27)

“Thus says the Lord: ‘Let not the wise man boast of his wisdom. Let not the mighty man boast of his might, nor let the rich man boast of his riches; but let the man who boasts boast about this, that he understands and knows me, that I am the Lord who exercises lovingkindness, justice, and righteousness on the earth, for in these things I delight.’ declares the Lord.” (Jer. 9:23-24)

“I do not consider my life as of any account dear to myself, if only I may finish the race and complete the task the Lord Jesus has given me – the task of testifying to the gospel of God’s grace.” (Acts 20:24)

“Keep yourselves free from the love of money, and be content with what you have, for He himself has said, ‘I will never fail you nor forsake you.’ So we can confidently say, ‘The Lord is my helper, I will not be afraid; what can man do to me?” (Heb. 13:5-6)

“Since, then, you have been raised with Christ, set your hearts on things above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God. Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things.” (Col. 3:1-2)

“Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving.” (Col. 3:23-24)

-D

Written by Michael Duenes

May 20, 2011 at 8:17 pm

Posted in Duenes, Reflections

Leave a Reply

