Russell and Duenes

Some Musings from the Transition – Summer 2011

with 2 comments

I’m not normally a morning person (and I admit that I’ve never understood the whole “night person”/ “morning person” thing), but while we’re at my parent’s house in L.A. this summer, seeing as there’s not much to do in the evenings, I thought I would try going to bed early and waking up around 4:45AM in order to get some uninterrupted time of reading, meditating, praying, and such. It has been great. We’ll see if I can keep it up, but I’m hoping that I can, because that time is precious, and with three active boys under age 4, is also hard to come by.

I read something the other day by Jerry Owen over at Credenda Agenda called Second Thoughts on Family Worship, and it struck me as true. Being Reformed in my Christian faith, I have always felt it important to have family devotions – or at least the attempt at them – and to train my boys up by catechizing them on either the Westminster Shorter Catechism, the Heidelberg Catechism, or some such. I still think these are important, but I have fretted over the thought that family devotions will come to be seen by my boys as something austere and duty-bound. So it was a breath of fresh air to read Owen saying that family devotions are not even the most important spiritual things we do with our families, and that “we need to be open to the idea that less is more. Better one verse read, enjoyed and digested, than 30 painful pious lecture minutes…I’m not saying the content should be effeminate drivel. I’m saying it should be a light burden. If your kids hate it, then change it. If they don’t enjoy it, fix it.” Amen and amen.

I noticed the New York Times the other day in an op-ed calling so-called “same-sex marriage” simply “marriage.” This is no accident, and look for it to increase, particularly in journalism. The “same-sex” or “gay” prefix attached to the word “marriage” is going to be dropped like a hot rock. It’s all part of the narrative, and as John Piper said, the most grievous part about all of this is not that same-sex marriage – which is not marriage in any sense – will be normalized, but that in normalizing it, the possibility of gay people truly hearing the gospel will be that much more muted and hindered.

I’ve been having a bit of back and forth with a friend over whether major league baseball should adopt instant replay. I’m against it. I’ve been against it in all sports, but particularly in my beloved baseball. Will it slow down games? Yes, but that’s not the worst of it. The worst part of it is that it will take the human element out of the game, which for baseball in particular, is most important. You see, baseball is an historical game unlike the other sports. People don’t go to NFL games with their buddies and sit around talking about the old games from earlier eras, comparing players and stats. Same with the NBA. It’s not that these sports have no history, but that their history matters so little to the continuity and ongoing enjoyment of the sport. Baseball needs its history, its statistical comparisons, and it especially needs its controversial calls, which would disappear if instant replay enters in. The reasons “baseball has marked the time,” as James Earl Jones puts it in Field of Dreams, has a lot to do with keeping instant replay and other “upgrades” out of it.

When one reads through the book of Ezekiel, one is constantly reminded that God takes action in our world so that people “will know that I am the LORD.” To read it over and over tends to take one’s mind off of man, and put it where it belongs, on God Almighty. I hope and pray that my one motivation in law school will be that God will so act in and through me – and any other Christian students in the school – such that others “will know that He is the LORD.”

-D

 

Written by Michael Duenes

July 2, 2011 at 9:03 pm

Posted in Duenes, Reflections

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I noticed the New York Times the other day in an op-ed calling so-called “same-sex marriage” simply “marriage.” This is no accident, and look for it to increase, particularly in journalism. The “same-sex” or “gay” prefix attached to the word “marriage” is going to be dropped like a hot rock.

    Definitely. As Vox Day recently said, the adjective modifies the noun – i.e., the very fact that the word “marriage” is prefaced by the word “gay” means that “gay marriage” is not exactly marriage.

    How did they do this in the NYT piece, by the way? It seems to me that it will be hard to talk about same-sex “marriage” without, well, using the term “same-sex marriage”.

    Samson

    July 7, 2011 at 6:42 pm


Leave a Reply

