Russell and Duenes

Some Musings from the Transition III – Summer 2011

leave a comment »

One of the things you find when you are dislocated by transition is how important the Body of Christ is. The author of Hebrews was dead serious when he wrote: “Let us not forsake the meeting together.” Granted, I am around saints in this transition, but the reality of being connected to a local body, which is often downplayed, is clearly of great significance. I fear, however, that if one gives oneself to a general habit of being unconnected to a body, one comes to accept it. But it would be like accepting kidneys that only clean about 75% of your blood. You may not die, but you will live with a kind of poisonous sickness constantly in your body, draining your energy and vitality. That’s a bit how I feel.

Great, so we get a total incompetent for a prosecutor in the Roger Clemens case. I have little doubt in my mind that Clemens, like so many others, used some type of banned substance. It would be nice if Andy Pettitte would come out and tell the true story, trial or not, but I can’t imagine that will happen. Clemens, unlike Rafael Palmeiro, is no dummy. He knows which way the wind blows. Palmeiro is one of only four, count ’em, FOUR players in major league history to have over 3,000 hits and over 500 home runs. Does anyone doubt that he should be a first ballot Hall of Famer? But Roid-Boy Alex Rodriguez will get in on the first ballot because he made a non-repentant, non-contrite “confession” that he’d “once” used steroids. Clemens will get in too, no questions asked, because like Al Capone, “They couldn’t pin nothin’ on me!” And Palmeiro may never get in, because, well, he got caught. Such is life in the steroid era.

As I was writing in my journal tonight, I realized how much I miss the long walks I used to take back in my single days. When I was in seminary, living at my parent’s semi-secluded suburban house, I would take long walks at night through the quiet neighborhood streets, just thinking, musing, and talking with God. I miss those times. I suppose I could still do it more often than I do, but those were some of the best times of fellowship I’ve known with God.

At the heart of our abortion culture is idolatry. We murder our own children because we despise God and His glory, and prefer false gods. Thus, we call our murderous slaughter “choice” or “family planning. We are blinded in our idolatry. This is why the pro-abortion forces are so impervious to logic, science, metaphysical arguments, and frankly, anything that would bring about clarity and repentance. The prophet Isaiah speaks to this mentality. God is describing the utter stupidity of the Israelites for chopping down a tree, taking half the wood and cooking their food over it, and taking the other half and fashioning an idol with it and bowing down to it. How do they not see the folly of such a thing? In a word: Blindness! “They know not, nor do they discern, for he has shut their eyes, so that they cannot see, and their hearts, so that they cannot understand. No one considers, nor is there knowledge or discernment to say, ‘Half of it I burned in the fire; I also baked bread on its coals; I roasted meat and have eaten. And shall I make the rest of it an abomination? Shall I fall down before a block of wood?’ He feeds on ashes; a deluded heart has led him astray, and he cannot deliver himself or say, “Is there not a lie in my right hand?'” (Isa. 44:18-20) And so it is with abortion.

-D

Written by Michael Duenes

July 14, 2011 at 10:05 pm

Posted in Duenes, Reflections

Leave a Reply

