Russell and Duenes

Musings on the Transition IV – Summer 2011

leave a comment »

Black political commentator, Larry Elder, said today that blacks were overwhelmingly against same-sex “marriage” and tended to be pro-life. But then he went on to say that blacks voted some 95% Democrat. If that’s true, and I have no reason to disbelieve it, then there’s obviously some calculus factoring in to black voting that utterly overwhelms the marriage and abortion issues. I find it curious, however, since if the abortion rates among American blacks keep up – an abortion rate that is enabled and furthered by the very Democratic politicians blacks are continually voting for – there won’t be any American blacks around to vote for anybody.

It’s becoming increasingly clear that being a law student is going to be the toughest academic and professional challenge I’ve ever encountered. The sheer sum of material I will have to memorize causes not a little fear and trembling. I will have to be disciplined in my learning habits with fresh rigor. This fact also helped me see how easy it is to be intellectually lazy. I have prided myself on being a continual learner, but I have not held myself to a disciplined approach to my learning. I’m glad this will have to change, and I hope that some of the new habits I’ll have to acquire will stay with me throughout my life.

My 95 year old grandma has been visiting us quite often during our brief stay in L.A., and I’m so grateful for her life. I’ve been thinking that I’d like to write a tribute to her before she passes away. I think this would honor her more than saying something at her funeral. It’s hard to fathom her not being around, for she has always had a significant presence in my life. She is still possessed of a keen mind, and you don’t often get to sit down and chat with someone who can remember stories from the 1920s and 30s. I know she won’t live forever, and I never know how many more visits with her I’ve got. I’m glad to be having these just now. What a precious gift of God.

I saw a video today of a segment of Bill Maher’s program. The guests he had on were describing violent and perverse sex acts they’d like to do with Michele Bachmann and Rick Santorum. It’s filth, straight up. And Maverick’s owner, Mark Cuban, is sitting there yucking it up as these men are talking about what they’d like to do sexually with the aforementioned politicians. But you’re not going to hear any public denunciations from Democrats or liberals. You’re not hearing anyone talk about the “coarsening effect” this has on our political culture. I’m guessing the New York Times won’t be printing a scathing editorial about it. The silence is deafening, and this is true because we’re not talking about politics. Something far worse is afoot.

-D

Written by Michael Duenes

July 18, 2011 at 9:58 pm

Posted in Duenes, Reflections

Leave a Reply

