Russell and Duenes

Guest Post: I Hate Being Busy

with one comment

by Joel Moore, Atlanta, GA

A few months back, my friend, Mike Duenes, asked me to write a column in his blog. Not wanting to say, “No,” instantly, I came up with some sort of reason, long since forgotten, for my delay. Being the gracious host that he is, Mike encouraged me to find the time to make a comment on the topic of my choice. Well, here it is.

What’s up with everyone being busy?

Everyone claims to be busy. In fact, it’s the best excuse out there for any unwelcome invitation to do anything. “Oh, I’m sorry. I can’t do XYZ because I’ve been so busy lately.” Admit it. You’ve said it. You’ve heard it said. People have said it to you. It’s almost as bad as asking a Christian to do something and they respond with, “Well, I’ll pray about it.” Translation? “Fat chance.”

But are we really busy?

Well, I’m sure that there are busy people out there. I know that the President of the United States must be very busy these days; his golf outings have really taken a downward trajectory in frequency as of late. But for the rest of us plebeians, you know, working stiffs that put in 40 at the office, come home, crack open a beer and watch American Idol, being busy is what we say to avoid doing those things that we really don’t want to do.

I’m too busy to go to church.

I’m too busy to pray.

I’m too busy to help out a neighbor in need.

Let’s face it. “I’m too busy,” has become our way of saying, “I don’t care.”

So, the challenge of the day is: Get off your lazy butt and actually do something meaningful in this world. Typing two dozen one liners on Facebook to your long lost High School friends doesn’t count as being social. Watching the most popular T.V. show doesn’t help you understand your neighbor. Sleeping in late on Sunday doesn’t get you any closer to God. None of us are really too busy. We are just too busy doing things that don’t really matter.

See, I’ve finished this blog in about twenty minutes. Damn, I hate being busy.

-JTM

Written by Michael Duenes

August 1, 2011 at 12:07 pm

Posted in Duenes, Guest

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yes – and even if i cut out frivolous things my schedule can be so full of “good” things that I risk displacing the “best”. Same can apply to money. Personally I’m definitely a work in progress on both fronts…

    Andy M

    August 2, 2011 at 4:48 pm


Leave a Reply

