Russell and Duenes

Musings on the Transition V – Summer 2011

with one comment

We arrived in Topeka on Thursday and are now getting settled in. God has been very gracious to us. We spent a couple of days with my wife’s cousin and her family in Kansas City. We took the boys to a children’s farmstead where they attempted to feed the baby goats their milk, were promptly mobbed by about six of them at a time, and proceeded to melt down. And it was only about 104 degrees outside. On the upside, we had some fantastic BBQ from Oklahoma Joe’s.

I get a funny feeling sometimes when I remember that I’m about 1,500 miles from any ocean. I don’t mind being so far from the coast, but it gives one a sense of disequilibrium, like you can get anywhere, but nowhere.

I love the practical ways that God shows His love for us, especially when we think we are alone. If you had asked me a year ago if I knew anybody in Topeka, the answer would have been, “Zip.” But since we decided to move here God has connected us with a number of people. The teacher next door to me at Redwood used to live in Topeka, so she passed along a friend’s name and number. A friend from my seminary days in LA connected me with a guy in town who he knows from Iowa. We met yesterday at church. Our neighbor of over 20 years on Southern California grew up in Kansas and went to KU. His roommate from KU went to Washburn Law School and now practices law here in town, indeed, right across the street from campus. I’m going to connect with him. And I had the privilege of having one of my former students from Redwood, who now lives in Arkansas, stop by for a visit yesterday afternoon. God’s got people everywhere, and we do well to remember it.

Even though the temps here have been hovering around 100 degrees – should be 108 tomorrow with a heat index of 115 – it has not really fazed me. Granted, I’m not playing outdoor hoops at noon, but even when I step outside, it’s not like I’m dying. I rather enjoy it, knowing that there are actual seasons here, and soon the chill and beauty of fall will be upon us.

I think I experienced a bit of midwest culture the other day when I stopped by my neighbor’s place to borrow a can-opener. He invited me in and I couldn’t get out of there. In California, it would have been: “Thanks, bye.”

-D

Written by Michael Duenes

August 1, 2011 at 12:46 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “fazed” 🙂

    samsonsjawbone

    August 2, 2011 at 12:33 pm


Leave a Reply

