Russell and Duenes

Musings on the Transition VI – Summer 2011

with one comment

I haven’t had to mow a lawn for over two years. Lots of folks would consider this a blessing, yet I never enjoyed mowing as much as I did yesterday. I was out there with my new self-propelled mower making my front lawn look like the fairways of some Scottish golf course, with the requisite patches of brownish grass. The sun went down before I could finish both the front and back yards, a nice problem to have, but just looking over a freshly mowed lawn does wonders for the soul.

It’s dawning on me in a new way that nobody cares how much time one puts into a project or one’s studies. What matters is the fruit of one’s labor. If I study for a hundred hours for a test, but still don’t know the answers when I sit down to actually take the thing, I fail. And no one will care if I plead, “but I killed myself studying for that exam.” Sell sunshine somewhere else.

I was putting my sons to bed tonight, having a great time singing songs and tucking them in, and suddenly I was filled with sorrow and angst at the thought that I would not be doing this kind of thing all that much over the coming school year. Sure, I’ll see them, but I won’t have the kind of time with them I’ve had until now. I’ve always known there would be a cost involved in going to law school, as there is in any kind of job or ministry. Indeed, if I survey some of the great Christian missionaries of the past, they would sometimes spend weeks or months away from family. That doesn’t make it easy – on me, them, or my wife – but I hope and pray that God will give me the grace to know when I’ve pushed hard enough at my studies, and it’s time to give my attention to my family.

My wife and I have been reading 1L, by Scott Turow. It’s about his first year at Harvard Law School, back in 1975. Superb read, to the point that I sometimes get unnerved. He does a great job of making the reader feel as if he or she is actually going through the classes with him as he recounts dialogues between professors and students. I’m reminded that at a place like Harvard, they have long since jettisoned the Christian faith, and in so doing, their entire curriculum is poisoned. That is to say, without biblical theism, there is no ground for law other than the will to power. There can be no ultimate justice, no right or wrong, no fairness, no equal rights for all. It’s not possible unless Jesus is Lord. Fortunately, He is. Law cannot justify laws. They cannot emanate from themselves. There must be an absolute law and lawgiver back of it all, as the Founders understood, otherwise law is merely a tool of oppression and brutality. Oh wait, oppression and brutality also don’t exist if Jesus isn’t Lord. It’s clear that even these Harvard students want there to be absolute truth and justice. How could they not? They’re image-bearers.

-D

Written by Michael Duenes

August 7, 2011 at 7:11 pm

Posted in Duenes, Reflections

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Circular reasoning.

    modestypress

    August 7, 2011 at 9:13 pm


Leave a Reply

