Russell and Duenes

Doing With The Law What I’ve Done With Theology

with one comment

Another thing that has dawned on me as I begin to study law is this: I’ve spent the last 20 years reading and studying various theologies, theologians, and biblical materials. In other words, over that span, I’ve built up a considerable store of knowledge about theological matters. I know the technical terminology. I can refer to the various authorities and trace some of the history of the development of doctrine.

It’s occurring to me that if I’m going to excel at law, I’m going to have to build up the same kind of knowledge base in the legal arena. I’m going to have to learn the names of various legal thinkers and become familiar with their writings. I’m going to have to gain command of and facility with a large storehouse of statutory regulations and court cases. I’m going to have to understand how our laws relate to our public policies, and how to research legal topics. And when I think back on how many long years of consistent study it took me to do this with theology, I start to tremble inside. Can I give that kind of time and energy to the law, while continuing to think about theological matters? Will I have the drive? I have never given so much of my time and attention to studying anything other than theology, and so I feel less sure-footed about the pursuit. I suppose this is the conundrum that all devoted Christians in the marketplace must face. They must pursue their craft with diligence and excellence, giving great attention to what they’re doing, even when it may feel a million miles from the world of the Bible. May God give us mercy in guiding us along the sure path. I think I’ll take Solomon’s advice to “cry out for wisdom,” for then I will come into the knowledge of God and find the fear of the Lord.

-D

Written by Michael Duenes

August 11, 2011 at 5:54 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I feel the exact same way when studying for the CPA exam.

    Jessica Parr

    September 27, 2011 at 3:23 pm


Leave a Reply

