Russell and Duenes

First Week of Law School

leave a comment »

I haven’t devoted many brain cells to blogging this week, as I am now officially drinking from the fire hose, trying to grasp some basic concepts in my Contracts Law class. I’ve only gone to school two days so far, but it seems like several weeks. I’m not even sure how to describe it. I don’t feel overwhelmed yet, but I think that’s coming in a few days. We’ve only had to attend one class this week, but starting next week, I’ll have my full load of 5 classes. I keep wondering how I’ll possibly memorize all of the rules, laws, and holdings necessary to do well on exams. But I try not to think about that too much and concentrate on focusing each day.

I think I’m the oldest guy in my class. There’s one other guy who also has three kids, but I’ve certainly got the most gray hair.

A friend of mine who just finished his first year of law school at Notre Dame counseled me that my faith would be the most important thing in my first year studies. Of course, my faith is the most important thing always, but I don’t always treat it so. But I’m certainly seeing what he means. Sometimes I’m sitting in class, feeling a million miles away from my Bible teaching job, wondering where all my studies are going to lead. There’s so much uncertainty, and I find myself longing for the comfort and security of just being with Jesus, just knowing that God is with me, giving me the grace to get through. Things get pretty simple and straightforward when we’re under pressure. We want that simple devotion to Christ that the apostle Paul speaks of.

Wish I had more to write about, something more stimulating, but I’ll leave it at this for now.

-D

Written by Michael Duenes

August 17, 2011 at 4:51 am

Posted in Duenes, Legal Matters

Leave a Reply

