Russell and Duenes

Torts and Things of Other Sorts

leave a comment »

I’ve attempted to write posts on here about three times in the last week and haven’t been able to “seal the deal” and complete them (though I’ve started them), mainly because I have ridiculous amounts of reading to do, being a first year law student. So this is more of a disclaimer. I have all manner of thoughts swirling around in my head that I’d love to post, but no time to post them. That said, I’m not ready to call it quits, but I make no promises as to how often I’ll write. I’m aiming for once a week at least. So here are a few musings.

Being a first year law student is a kind of rite of passage. There’s a palpable dread that is constantly in one’s mind, and not just because we want to sound good in class. Rather, we’re painfully aware that not a whole lot matters during the actual semester. What really matters is whether one can “bring it” on the day of the final. In those few short hours, you have to justify your entire law school existence, and you know this before you even attend your first class. There’s nothing like it, and one gets the feeling this is by design.

In Torts class we began by reading about a case that my older readers will remember, namely, the case where the woman sued McDonalds because her coffee was so hot that when she spilled it on herself, she got burned. I remember hearing about the case and thinking it was a bogus lawsuit. I don’t think that anymore. Let’s just say, the media did not give us the real scoop. If you remember the case and you’re interested, do a little research and find out what really happened to that woman. McDonalds should have paid her a lot more, in my opinion.

My aim is to succeed in law school, but I was reflecting last week on my hero, Winston Churchill, and specifically on the amount of failure he overcame in his life to achieve what he did. Lesser men’s careers would have been ruined by even one of the setbacks Churchill faced, and yet he persevered. I took courage from this, knowing that, as Churchill once said, “Success is the result of making many mistakes and learning from experience.” Indeed. Thanks to my pastor out here, I also thought about the experience of another of my heroes, the apostle Peter. The night before Peter was to be executed, he was asleep in his prison cell, which tells me he had an extraordinary confidence in Christ. Now if he could sleep soundly, believing he was going to die in the morning, I think I can also keep my law school classes in the proper perspective. In the grand view of eternity, they matter very little.

If you don’t have a copy of C.S. Lewis’ God in the Dock, I suggest you secure a copy somehow, and if you read nothing else, read his chapter on “Miracles.” It’s the best analysis I’ve ever seen, at least from a philosophical theology standpoint. I intend to read it multiple times. Each paragraph was a symphony.

It’s now almost midnight, so time to turn in. More reading and case briefing awaits me in the morning.

-D

Written by Michael Duenes

August 26, 2011 at 9:53 pm

Posted in Duenes, Reflections

Leave a Reply

