Russell and Duenes

Winston Churchill and Learning from Failure

leave a comment »

This will be brief and off-the-cuff. I just wrote a practice exam for Contracts that was a total piece of poo. For the first time this semester, I felt like I was very unsure of what the issues were that I was supposed to analyze, and the approach I took toward analyzing them just seemed to fall apart. My answer is garbage, and I’ll find out just how much garbage it is during class tomorrow.

But I took cold comfort, not for the first time, from my hero, Winston Churchill. He spoke about learning from mistakes, and believed that success was the result of learning from them. And did he ever. He was blamed for the Gallipoli disaster in WW1, but that wasn’t the end of him. He badly misread the abdication crisis in the late 1930s, and that almost finished him. Yet he never gave up, though he failed again and again. His star remained steady, and that is valuable to me now.

So, off I go to Contracts class tomorrow to learn from my failure.

-D

Written by Michael Duenes

October 11, 2011 at 9:51 pm

Posted in Duenes, Reflections

Leave a Reply

