Russell and Duenes

Baseball is Almost Here

leave a comment »

My mother handed me a NY Times piece on a down period in Yankees history, roughly coinciding with the end of the Mantle era to the mid-1970s. What struck me, however, was the photo of Mantle in the piece, now in his later years with the Yankees, walking up to the plate. I can’t explain what it was, but I felt a sense of simple innocence about the game of baseball. I know it’s big business, but I was reminded again that it’s also a child’s game, and quite a simple one at that. There are few things I enjoy more than just playing catch. And having not thrown a baseball around in about a year, I felt a deep yearning to get away from the law books and the thinking and the analyzing, even for a few moments, and to lose myself in this game that I’ve adored since childhood, to feel that pop in my mitt, the raised seams of the ball on my fingers, and just enjoy the great pleasure of “having a catch.” Don’t know when that might happen, since I don’t have any baseball buddies out here yet, but I’m aching for it.

Reading Supreme Court cases on the Commerce Clause, one is again reminded of the complexity of human economic and social systems, and the utter arrogance of certain technocrats who think they can manage it well. Just think of the complex of consequences that are set off if one particular state decides that it is only going to let two-hitch trailer trucks onto its highways, rather than triple trailers. Or try to think of all the implications that might come from one state requiring certain certifications in order to sell one’s beef within the state, which neighboring states do not require. Or try to imagine all of the social and economic ripples that will be set off when a centralized bureaucracy attempts to regulate the health care market. Such things are vastly beyond the wisdom of any single human being or government-sized group of human beings. And yet we’re willing to hand such power over to our ruling elite, supposing that they will be able to pull the right lever and and push the right knobs, as it were, and make things all come out well. Don’t count on it.

Psalm 27 says, “Thou hast said to me, ‘Seek my face.’ My heart says to you, ‘Your face, Lord, do I seek.” And I asked myself, “How does one seek God’s face, since we cannot see it?” The Scripture that came to my mind was 2 Cor. 4:6, “For God, who said, “Let light shine out of darkness,” has shone in our hearts to give the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Jesus Christ.” Ah yes, “the face of Jesus Christ.” And where does one see his “face?” In the gospel accounts. J.I. Packer said that meditation in the gospels should be one of our chief meditations, and if we are going to see the glory of God in the face of Christ, we best take his advice.

-D

Written by Michael Duenes

March 11, 2012 at 8:32 pm

Posted in Duenes, Reflections

Leave a Reply

