Russell and Duenes

1L:Done

with 2 comments

That is, if I passed Civil Procedure.

I felt several things today as I finished my Constitutional Law final exam: relief, gratitude, comraderie, and a bit of sadness.

Relief. It was truly a relief just to make it through this first year of law school. Certainly it is not as tough as, say, medical school, but it has called for a tremendous amount of discipline and endurance, more than I’ve ever had to exhibit. The two weeks of finals is a war of attrition, as you try to get yourself up for intense, hours long studying for about 15 days in a row; and this after you’ve been putting in 8-10 hours of study, 6 days a week, for a whole semester.

Gratitude. Gratitude to God for helping me to get through the year, for providing much intellectual stimulation through the study of law, for providing new relationships with fellow students and with professors. Gratitude for the privilege to come to school, and for the endurance to persevere to the end of the year.

Camraderie. In the 1L year, you have no choice about the classes you take, and so you go through the whole ordeal with the same students, taking the same professors. Hanging out with some of them today after our last exam, I couldn’t help but feel a sense of unity and comradeship with them, a sense that, together, we had accomplished something significant and difficult. It was a nice feeling.

A bit of sadness. Now we will go our ways this summer, and next year, we will not all have the same classes. The studies have been so intense all year long, and I’ve worked together on so many things with others, I couldn’t help but have a little letdown. The other students, the classrooms, the professors, they have been as constant companions for the last nine months, and now they won’t be, and I felt sad about that.

I will enjoy the ability to read some non-legal literature now, and it will be good to work with my hands a little more over the summer. I don’t know how much my 1L experience has changed me, but I hope that whatever ultimately comes of it, God will be honored in it.

-D

Written by Michael Duenes

May 11, 2012 at 6:59 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Praying for you guys!
    Stan

    Stan

    May 11, 2012 at 7:09 pm

    • Thank you, Stan. That means a lot. It’s been a grueling year, in many ways, but also quite gratifying.

      -D

      russell and duenes

      May 12, 2012 at 9:04 am


Leave a Reply

