Russell and Duenes

Who Will Speak for Me?

with one comment

“Rescue those who are being taken away to death; hold back those who are stumbling to the slaughter. If you say, ‘Behold, we did not know this,” does not he who weighs the heart perceive it?” ~ Ancient Proverb

My home is warm and comfortable, and I’m well fed. I don’t worry about anything really because I have all I need right here. Yet my house is an interesting place, kind of cramped sometimes. And I live in the dark. My eyes work just fine, but all I see is a faint aura of light which occasionally brightens my home. My mouth and tongue also work, but I do not say anything. I haven’t lived here very long, and I’m hoping to move out soon. Happy will be the days when I might breathe the fresh air, feel the warmth of the sun on my face, hear the pitter-patter of rain on my window, savor a morsel of some freshly picked fruit, relax in my mother’s arms, feel the strength in my father’s grip, and lock eyes with another human being.

But wait! I now see a light, brighter than usual, shining into my world. I’m startled, for I have never seen such a light. As I begin to wonder what’s going on, I sense something cold and hard grasping for me, touching me all over my tiny body. Nothing painful, just odd. My home’s been breached, and I’m not sure I like it. In fact, I’m now trying desperately to move away from the cold, hard steely thing, but there’s nowhere to go.

My leg is suddenly grabbed, and I cry out in pain. Struggle as I might, I’m being pulled inexorably downward toward the light. My fragile skin is now pierced and a searing pain shoots up through my torso and into my whole upper body. My heart is pounding now, feeling as if it will burst out of my chest with from the sense of panic I feel. I’m backed into a corner and pinned down. Then, in one violent motion, my leg is ripped from my body. Pain washes over me and floods my soul like unending waves in a tsunami. Could I speak, I would scream out, “My God! My God!” But alas, I make no sound as my body wriggles and writhes in agony. Blood flows all around me now. The warmth I knew of my home has been ravaged, and I’m dismembered and disoriented.

The forceps grab me again, this time my arm. It too is torn from my body, and my mind explodes with uncomprehending torment. My mouth shoots open, my neck muscles seize, and I feel as if on fire. I instinctively try to reach with my attached arm to the place where my other arm used to be. I must get away from this monster that’s ripping me to pieces bit by bit. I move jerkily now, swimming and swaying, without control over the throbbing in my leg, the stabbing pain in my arm, and the tenseness in every fiber of my being. Now comes the ultimate fait accompli: The steel tongs find my head and in a heartbeat – my last – my skull is unmercifully crushed and I am no more.  My lifeless, mangled body is pulled and suctioned from my home in my mother’s womb, to be unceremoniously dumped, hopefully in some medical receptacle, rather than a toilet or a trash can.

No crying, no laughing, no singing, nor frolicking. No seeing the stars or dancing in a field. No moonrises or sunsets. No running and playing. No hugs or kisses. No wonderment at the miracle of human existence. No loving and being loved. My parents, they wanted a boy. And the Supreme Court, the ultimate judicial authority in our land, says I’m not a person, says they do not need to decide when life begins. They’ve defined me out of existence, saying the Constitution forced them to. I’m merely a “potential life,” fetal material, a “product of conception.”

I would speak for myself and tell my story over one million times each year, but I’m unable. I’m no longer here. Who will speak for me?

-D

Written by Michael Duenes

October 26, 2012 at 4:51 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey, I think the “-D” means Duenes wrote this, but I’m not certain. I’m a friend of Jason Elebiary’s, he was a student of yours. We both attend Lubbock Christian University, and I’ve recently been struggling over the issue of abortion. With regards to whether or not a fetus is living, I would say with confidence that a fetus is biologically alive. But my question is, is a fetus a person? I don’t think that an animal like a gorilla, or a chimpanzee, or an aardvark is a person. A person, I think, has self-directing capabilities. Thus a person would be a being that is self-directing in its nature. Animals are merely automatons who’s brains react automatically to automatic stimulation. With humans, there’s something more along with the brain there, or at least we have to assume there’s something else there if we are to believe in free will. With regards to a fetus being a person, I’m not certain it would be a person. So basically, the question of personhood seems to come down to when does an animal, specifically a human, become a person? Is it at conception? Is there a spiritual state of being existing dually with the fetus at the time of conception? Or is it at birth? Is there a spiritual state of being existing dually with the fetus at the time of conception? Or is it some time a little later? I’m a waffler on this topic, so I don’t have a set opinion on it right now, I was just interested to hear your response.

    -Chance

    Chance

    October 26, 2012 at 7:01 pm


Leave a Reply

