Russell and Duenes

Jesus’ Kingdom is Not Bound by Any Political Winds of Change

leave a comment »

“May God be praised for ever and ever!  He is wise and powerful. 21 He changes times and seasons. He sets up kings. He removes them from power.
The wisdom of those who are wise comes from him. He gives knowledge to those who have understanding. 22 He explains deep and hidden things. He knows what happens in the darkest places. And where he is, everything is light.” (Daniel 2:20-22)

Why do the nations plan evil together? Why do they make useless plans? The kings of the earth take their stand against the Lord. The rulers of the earth gather together against his anointed king. “Let us break free from their chains,” they say. “Let us throw off their ropes.” The One who sits on his throne in heaven laughs. The Lord makes fun of those rulers and their plans. When he is angry, he warns them. When his anger blazes out, he terrifies them. He says to them, “I have placed my king on my holy mountain of Zion.” (Psalm 2:1-6)

Be still and know that I am God. I will be honored among the nations. I will be honored on the earth. (Psalm 46:10)

Lord, there’s no one like you among the gods. No one can do what you do. Lord, all of the nations you have made will come and worship you. They will bring glory to you. 10 You are great. You do wonderful things. You alone are God. (Psalm 86:8-10)

“Thus says the LORD, the King of Israel, and his Redeemer, the LORD of hosts: ‘I am the First and I am the Last; besides Me there is no God. (Isaiah 44:6)

Do not fear, nor be afraid; have I not told you from that time, and declared it? You are My witnesses. Is there a God besides Me? Indeed there is no other Rock; I know not one.’” (Isaiah 44:8)

I am the Lord, and there is no other; There is no God besides Me. I will gird you, though you have not known Me, 6 that they may know from the rising of the sun to its setting that there is none besides Me. I am the Lord, and there is no other; I form the light and create darkness, I make peace and create calamity; I, the Lord, do all these things.’ (Isaiah 45:5-7)

“Remember this, and show yourselves men; recall to mind, O you transgressors. Remember the former things of old, for I am God, and there is no other; I am God, and there is none like Me, 10 declaring the end from the beginning, and from ancient times things that are not yet done, saying, ‘My counsel shall stand, and I will do all My pleasure.'” (Isaiah 46:8-10)

God, who made the world and everything in it, is Lord of heaven and earth. He doesn’t live in temples made with human hands. 25 Nor is God served by human hands, as though he needed something, since he is the one who gives life, breath, and everything else. 26 From one person God created every human nation to live on the whole earth, having determined their appointed times and the boundaries of their lands. 27 God made the nations so they would seek him, perhaps even reach out to him and find him. In fact, God isn’t far away from any of us. 28 In God we live, move, and exist. As some of your own poets said, ‘We are his offspring.’ (Acts 17:24-28)

Then Jesus came to them. He said, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me.” (Matthew 28:18)

Lord, who will not have respect for you? Who will not bring glory to your name? You alone are holy. All nations will come and worship you. They see that the things you do are right.” (Revelation 15:4)

The advancement of the Christian gospel of salvation has never depended on the political winds, which are so given to variation and change. Indeed, in truth it may be said that God’s people have been most spiritually fruitful when under severe persecution. We dare not trust in men. God is our rock and shield. He is our salvation and redeeming grace. His purposes cannot fail. Let us humbly join him and not retreat. He has made us “fishers of men.” So let us go forth in His confidence and strength, never growing weary in well-doing.

-D

 

 

Written by Michael Duenes

November 7, 2012 at 5:53 am

Leave a Reply

