Russell and Duenes

L.A. Dodgers as “Yankees West”

with 2 comments

DodgersOne of my friends asked me if I planned on deriding the Dodgers for spending out the wazzou this offseason, seeing as I’ve trashed the Yankees and other similar high-spending teams over the years for playing the “rent-a-championship” game. My response: Absolutely!

I’m a baseball fan, so there is no way for me to utterly turn away from a game I love so much. But my interest in MLB has waned to a significant degree over the last decade or so, and even a Dodger’s championship contender will not change that. Sure, I check mlb.com virtually every night during the season, but mostly because it provides highlights, which gives me my baseball fix for the day. I understand all the blather about how “baseball is a business,” and blah, blah, blah. OK, so run it like a business if you want. That’s fine with me. It’s a badly run business. It’s way too expensive for fans, Bud Selig is a horrible “Commissioner,” players have no loyalty to teams anymore, every guy and his uncle is taking PED’s, contrary to Jim Carrey’s noise in “Dumb and Dumber,” it’s Tim McCarver who is “the most annoying sound in the world,” and major league baseball is just too darned removed from the common man of modest means like me who wants to enjoy the game.

I would ten-thousand times rather sit in the front row at a competitive high school baseball game than head down to the local stadium where it’ll cost me a week’s salary just to have a bite to eat. Give me little league over the ten-times too loud AC/DC music blaring over the loudspeakers between innings. The old MLB rivalries are hardly rivalries anymore. Yes, I still hate the Giants and Yankees, and always will; but it’s not the same as in the 70s when I was growing up. Heck, half my team’s lineup could be on the rival’s team the following season.

As far as the Dodger’s spending is concerned, I don’t think it’s going to get them to the Promised Land. The Yankees themselves tried this maneuver back in the 80s and came away with precisely zero World Series championships. I imagine the Dodgers are going to find a similar lack of success. But hey, as long as the TV stations can get theirs, and nosebleeds can start running me about $30 a pop, making big bucks for the already uber-rich athletes and top brass, well then, “it’s just good business,” right? No, it’s a bunch of crap, and I’m pretty disillusioned with it.

I’ll always be a kind of baseball historian, reveling in the great moments of the game gone by, reading aloud to my sons books entitled, “Baseball’s Greatest Sluggers” and the like; but you’re never going to hear me going on about my “love affair with major league baseball.” I have a love affair with baseball, and prefer to go out on dates with the non-major league variety.

-D

Written by Michael Duenes

February 2, 2013 at 3:33 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have to challenge two points you made. First, Yankees tried to spend their way to championship in the 80’s with no success. True but look what spending did for them from 1996 on. Second, we saw the Dodgers spend mid level for years and no championships either. Can you imagine the 2008 and 2009 (NLCS, loss to Phils) with the current ownership? Finally, the reason the Dodgers will win is ownership is investing in the minor leagues and foreign players again. As a true Dodgers fan since 1976, I am happier than ever that our team is back ….

    Go Dodgers!

    Pauly V

    February 2, 2013 at 7:41 pm

    • P – Don’t get me wrong, I’ll be glad if the Dodgers win. They’re my team. I understand the “business” aspect of baseball, and I understand what it means for me. The Dodgers have invested in some foreign players, but I would disagree with your contention that they’re properly investing in their minor league system again. If you were right, where are all the players? I’m not seeing it. The ’96 Yankees stars were mostly farm system products: Jeter, Williams, Rivera, Posada, and Pettite. Yes, they had O’Neill and Tino, but if you look further, you’ll see they added El Duque and Hideki Irabu. They had a good mix, but they really developed their farm system. I haven’t seen comparable action from the Dodgers. We’ll see. Oh, and Go Dodgers!

      -D

      russell and duenes

      February 3, 2013 at 10:12 am


Leave a Reply

