Russell and Duenes

My Refuge and My Fortress, My God in Whom I Trust

leave a comment »

“I will say to the LORD: ‘My refuge and my fortress, my God in whom I trust.” – Psalm 91:2

Psalm 34 was my Scripture memorization for January, and this month it is Psalm 91. I have always found comfort and strength in the first two verses: “He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty. I will say to the LORD, ‘my refuge and my fortress, my God in whom I trust.'” So I thought I’d peruse the Scriptural language of “refuge.”

In the Old Testament law, God provided “cities of refuge,” where “the manslayer who kills any person without intent may flee there.” (Num. 35:11). No doubt these were intended to be a tangible evidence of God’s provision for His people, as a refuge for them.

“Blessed are all who take refuge in [God].” (Psalm 2:12). The LORD is a refuge for the poor. (Psalm 14:6). God is a savior to those who seek refuge at God’s right hand. (Psalm 17:7). “[God] is a shield for all those who take refuge in Him.” (Psalm 18:30). God delivers His people from the ensnaring nets of their enemies, because they take refuge in Him. (Psalm 31:4). “Oh, how abundant is your goodness, which you have stored up for those who fear you and worked for those who take refuge in you, in the sight of the children of mankind!” (Psalm 31:19). “None of those who take refuge in the LORD will be condemned.” (Psalm 34:22). The LORD “delivers them from the wicked and saves them, because they take refuge in him.” (Psalm 37:40). “God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.” (Psalm 46:1). “You, [O LORD], have been my refuge, a strong tower against the enemy.” (Psalm 61:3). “Be to me a rock of refuge, to which I may continually come; you have given the command to save me, for you are my rock and my fortress.” (Psalm 71:3). “I have made the Lord God my refuge, that I may tell of all your works.” (Psalm 73:28). It is better to take refuge in the Lord than to trust in man. It is better to take refuge in the Lord than to trust in princes.” (Psalm 118:8-9). “[The LORD] is my steadfast love and my fortress, my stronghold and my deliverer, my shield and he in whom I take refuge, who subdues peoples under me.” (Psalm 1442). “The Lord is good, a stronghold in the day of trouble; he knows those who take refuge in him.” (Nahum 1:7). “[W]e who have fled for refuge might have strong encouragement to hold fast to the hope set before us.” (Hebrews 6:18).

Those who take refuge in lesser things – political rulers, money, fame, human strength or military might – are always disappointed in the end. Every day we have need of a refuge, a strong fortress in which to hide ourselves, and in which to be protected against the storms of life. God says, “The name of the LORD is a strong tower, the righteous runs into it and is safe.” Let us therefore run for refuge into the strong tower that is the Lord, and there find safety and salvation.

-D

Written by Michael Duenes

February 24, 2013 at 7:41 pm

Posted in Duenes, Reflections

Leave a Reply

