Russell and Duenes

Health Regimens

leave a comment »

prescriptionHave you ever taken the wrong prescription for health?  I have, and it could’ve killed me.  When I was at UCLA I came down with a pretty bad cough, so I went to good ‘ol Dr. Martel, my pediatrician.  He’d been my doctor since before I was born, and I’d not yet gotten myself an adult physician.  Knowing me as he did, he probably assumed that he’d seen this kind of thing in me before, and gave me the requisite antibiotics.  Dutifully I took the prescription, but in less than a week, I had deteriorated considerably.  Finally, when I couldn’t sleep and was too weak to get out of bed, I knew both the diagnosis and the prescription were dead wrong.  When I arrived at the hospital, it was clear that the drugs I was taking were doing nothing for the pneumonia that had taken over 2/3 of my one lung and 1/3 of the other.  Had I kept taking the wrong prescription for another several days, I think it might’ve been too late.  I needed the right doctor to give me the right diagnosis and the right prescription.

Is there a prescription or ‘health regimen’ for attaining “the good life?”  Is there a doctor who can help me become truly “well off?”  Is there a place I can go?  What health regimen is there for the sickness of impatience? Indifference? Ingratitude? Self-adulation? Arrogance?  Greed? Adultery? Jealousy? Laziness? Anger? Moral blindness? Dishonoring God?  What program might I get on to have love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, humility, courage, gratitude, contentment, faithfulness, and self-control?

-D

Written by Michael Duenes

March 21, 2013 at 9:55 pm

Posted in Duenes, Reflections

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

