Russell and Duenes

Katy Perry: I Kissed a Girl and I liked it

leave a comment »

I kissed a girl and I liked it; the taste of her cherry chapstick. I kissed a girl just to try it; I hope my boyfriend don’t mind it. It felt so wrong, it felt so right, don’t mean I’m in love tonight. I kissed a girl and I like it, I liked it. – Katy Perry

Over the weekend, my wife happened to be surfing our Amazon instant videos, and she came across Katy Perry’s documentary, Part of Me, which chronicles her world tour in 2011, but really, tells a brief story of her life and how she got to where she is. I admit, I was quite engrossed in the film, not because I’m a Katy Perry fan. I hardly know her music. But because I’m always intrigued by people who have achieved a good measure of fame, wanting to reflect on the messages and images they convey with their lives.

I’m no musicologist, but I doubt Perry’s music is of the lasting variety. This is not to say, however, that her music lacks a certain catchy quality. It is catchy, and I can see why she’s popular. Her music seems to be an extension of the force of her personality, which from all appearances, is quite winsome. Yet the song that grabbed my attention above the others is her little ode to homosexual normalcy, “I Kissed a Girl.” Watching her sing it in concert, to the screams of adoring fans, both my wife and I thought, out loud, that there are no moral and philosophical arguments that can do battle with the message of this song, in the powerful musical medium in which it is given. It simply bypasses all the logic, rationality and reflection of the moral/ spiritual realm, and moves right to the emotions. One is swept up in the apparent “rightness” of treating homosexual behavior, “experimentation,” in her words, as something entirely normal, even beautiful, something to be “liked.”

At least for a time. That was my next thought. In our particular cultural moment, Katy Perry’s song has great coin, and along with other similar expressions of approval for homosexuality, seems to be carrying the day. But only for a time. How much time, I don’t know. But God is no fool. He created and superintends all reality, and His good and beautiful commands and ordinations cannot be contravened without consequence forever. The fallout of all of our celebration of sexual “liberation” and autonomy will be brokenness. The sexual brokenness born of our current rebellion – not just in the homosexual arena, but in the totality of human sexuality – is gaining force like a tsunami; and when it breaks upon the shore of human relationships, the wreckage will be vast indeed. It always is. And what then?

Will God’s people still have the healing, comforting, liberating, beautiful gospel of Christ to offer in the midst of the carnage? Will our own sexual holiness and fidelity to God’s ways be present and observable in a winsome way to those who have finally come up against reality and are searching for soul-quenching truth, and are no longer mollified by the fleeting pleasures of sin, which Katy Perry so forcefully purveys? For Perry’s notions – powerful as they are right now – will be of little comfort in the end. Worthless physicians they will be.

Will we take God at His word concerning marriage and sexual faithfulness, trusting that, in the long run, truth will out, and God will draw in the broken to Himself and give them Living Water, rather than watered-down truth? Standing with God, keeping the faith and continuing to make the case – with our words and our lives – that “for this reason a man will leave his father and mother and cleave to his wife, and the two shall become one flesh” is not futile. It may seem utterly irrelevant and a “losing argument” in the face of the Katy Perry’s of the world, and the tens of thousands of her devotees. But those devotees are human beings, created in the image of God, and they cannot escape reality. Jesus’ words and His loving precepts never return to Him void. He loves us, and as with the Prodigal Son, He keeps seeking us, waiting for us to return to Him when we’ve grown tired of eating from the pig’s trough.

-D

Written by Michael Duenes

August 6, 2013 at 9:15 pm

Leave a Reply

