Russell and Duenes

Some Musings: Affirmative Action, Temporary Law Licenses and “After a Little While”

leave a comment »

I wish I had more to say, but it seems I’ve acquired a bit of writer’s block lately, or maybe my head is filled with nothing but Supreme Court edicts on affirmative action in university admissions programs, which I am having to imbibe as part of my current legal research load. Too bad none of my six readers wants to hear anything about affirmative action, and why would they? Because I would have plenty to say. Much of it is an exercise in legal jibber-jabber that wants nothing to do with standards and measurables, even when such things are inevitable and really going on. Just don’t speak words like “quota”, “sufficient numbers”, “racial balancing” or the like, and you’re good. It’s enough to make me want to do something crazy, like agree with Justice Ginsburg (which I do, at least about the verbal chicanery that surrounds this issue). What is a “critical mass” of minority students? Don’t ask. If you’re a university admissions counselor, you’re not allowed to know.

My final year of law school begins in a few days, as does my work as a legal intern in our law school’s clinic. Which means I will have a temporary license to practice law. Lord, have mercy! Makes me think of Tom Cruise in A Few Good Men:

Other lawyer: I’m going to charge him with possession and being under the influence while on duty. You plead guilty, I recommend 30 days in the brig with loss of rank and pay.

Cruise: It was oregano, Dave. It was 10 dollars worth of oregano.

Other lawyer: Yeah, but your client thought it was marijuana.

Cruise: My client’s a moron that’s not against the law.

I admit to apprehension along with my eagerness. It’s a bit like going on a first date in high school, longing mixed with fear and trembling.

I noticed something the other day. The apostle Peter says, “Humble yourselves under the mighty hand of God that He may exalt you in due time.” Then a few sentences later he tells his brothers and sisters in the faith that they ought to resist the devil, “knowing that the same kinds of suffering are being experienced by your brotherhood throughout the world.” Yet “after you have suffered a little while, the God of all grace, who has called you to his eternal glory in Christ, will himself restore, confirm, strengthen, and establish you.” In due time. After a little while. These words are difficult, and yet heartening. Difficult, because it is hard to endure the furnace, particularly when one is trying to be faithful to the Lord and resist the candyland of sin. Heartening, because we can have a deep-rooted confidence that the temporary sufferings are just that, and that God will bring us through to a glorious freedom and rest in Christ.

-D

Written by Michael Duenes

August 21, 2013 at 7:16 pm

Leave a Reply

