Russell and Duenes

Some Musings: November 28, 2014

leave a comment »

Suddenly everyone is a District Attorney and understands in great detail all the intricacies of the Grand Jury system.

I think my second oldest son is destined to be a computer hacker. We keep finding his attempts to decode our password typed into our computer log in. Of course, at this point he’s convinced that the password is some variation of “lego.” It’s hilarious, at least for now.

The apostle Peter commands us to “honor all people” and to “honor the emperor.” Yet Peter is also the one who defies the religious rulers to their faces, telling them, “We must obey God rather than men.” So, honoring others does not include “going along to get along,” nor bowing to their wishes. I’m sure Peter was being perfectly honorable, even gentle, when he told these rulers that he would not obey them. Nor did Peter dishonor the sorcerer when he told him, “Your money perish with you.” We need to disabuse ourselves of this bogus notion that treating others with honor means never making them feel bad or “judged.”

All these years as a Christian and I’ve never read a book by Francis Schaeffer. I’ve owned The God Who is There, Escape From Reason, and He is There, and He is Not Silent, for several years, but I’ve never gotten around to reading any of them. Recently I found an audio version of He is There, and He is Not Silent at our library. I’ve been duly impressed, and wish I had read some of Schaeffer’s stuff earlier. I’ve been particularly captured by his thoughts on epistemology, a word I wish would become commonplace among God’s people at every level. I’ve been going back over what he says on this multiple times, just to internalize it (and I’ll likely write some things on it here when I can get to it). Epistemology basically deals with the question of “how we know what we know.” Like Schaeffer, I think it is one of the most important topics, and one of the most neglected, for the Christian Church today, and I’m hoping Schaeffer’s writings will help me continue to make that case to as many people as I can.

Schaeffer also strikes the reader with his clear experiential basis for dealing with ultimate questions. He is no “armchair” theologian, formulating speculative propositions merely to lay down a systematic theology and philosophy. The things he thinks and writes about are clearly born of his conversations and interactions with people who came to stay with him and his family. Therefore he speaks with a combination of penetrating intellectual and historical force yet with a warm authenticity and personal depth. I imagine this to be a rare thing.

-D

Written by Michael Duenes

November 28, 2014 at 9:58 am

Posted in Duenes, Reflections

Leave a Reply

