Russell and Duenes

It Just Blows My Mind a Bit

leave a comment »

I’ve been working on memorizing Isaiah 43:1-3, which begins with the words, “Now thus says the LORD, your Creator, O Jacob, and He who formed you, O Israel.” I don’t often meditate on the fact that I am a created being, at least not in my moment-by-moment existence on a daily basis, and my purpose here is not to rehearse all the implications of the fact that God intentionally created you and me. It’s just to point out that our contingency, our createdness, if you will, certainly rearranges the categories in our hearts and minds when we being to grasp it. It presents us with great mystery, with truth beyond our ability to fully fathom. We exist because someone great and mighty decided to bring us into existence, and decides to continue creating us, keeping us in existence, each moment of our lives. We do not sustain ourselves by our own biological processes. God sustains us by means of them, and could stop them at any moment. I “live and move and have my being” at His pleasure and bidding. “Humble yourselves, therefore, under the mighty hand of God.”

I was in northern California last weekend to officiate a wedding between two of my former students. It was a great joy, and I was thankful to be a part of it. I was also thankful for the rich group of friends God has given me in every place I have lived. The friends I have in southern California, where I lived the first 32 years of my life, in northern California, where I lived for 10 years, and now here in Topeka, are beyond precious to me. God did not have to give them, and they are one of the surest signs to me of my heavenly Father’s lavish generosity. I treasure every opportunity I get to spend time with them.

Somehow this week my mind stopped on the fact that I have 4 kids. I thought, “Do I really have 4 kids?” It seems almost unreal sometimes. I’ve only been married 8 1/2 years, and didn’t marry until I was 37, so sometimes when I tell people that I have 4 kids, it just blows my mind a bit.

It’s becoming evident to me that I need to come to grips with the true nature of work, as God sees it. I think I thought I had a pretty good handle on it when I worked at a Christian high school, but working now as an attorney shows me I didn’t. Further, I am not thinking very much these days about what “ministry” I can volunteer with at church now that I’m out of the grind of law school. Rather, I’m thinking about how I am going to live and move as God’s ambassador in and through my work, and the relationships I have there. That’s where all the action is. Frankly, I’m kind of stumped, but my heart is gravitating towards this arena. I’m anxious to see if I can cobble together some likeminded folks who would like to join me in the venture.

-D

Written by Michael Duenes

January 10, 2015 at 12:42 pm

Posted in Duenes, Reflections, Work

Leave a Reply

