Russell and Duenes

May Your Beauty Come From the Utter Rejection of Everything that “50 Shades of Grey” Stands For

leave a comment »

As is well known to most, the movie 50 Shades of Grey is coming out on Valentines Day, mostly to celebration and excitement. I could say a lot of things about this, but I think I’ll just say that it saddens me. This book and movie grieve me because I have a wife whom I desperately love and seek to honor and cherish. And she is worthy of such honor, for she is beautiful, and yet her beauty is only increased by the fact that she is modest and protective of her femininity. She is very smart and capable, and uses these qualities in a variety of ways, including adorning our home with beauty, acceptance, comfort and fine food. My wife is faithful, hard-working, thoughtful and respectful; she speaks and acts with purity and humility, and carries herself with dignity and prudence. She covers our family with grace. Suffice it to say that not only does 50 Shades exalt none of these things, but it revels in their opposites: shame, degradation, humiliation, ugliness, selfishness, impurity and faithlessness.

The giddiness surrounding 50 Shades¬†further saddens me because I think of the fact that my daughter will sooner than I realize be navigating the shoals of the kind of utter debasement and wickedness that is not only accepted, but positively rejoiced over in this book and movie. The beauty of God’s ways regarding sex and sexuality are stunning and captivating, and so very worth giving oneself to, and I hope and desire that my daughter will embrace them, for her own eternal joy and for God’s glory. And the thought that God’s ways are savaged, mutilated, marred and debauched by the making and celebration of this film is soul-grieving stuff. It is sad because it destroys souls and turns people away from the God who lovingly created them for Himself, for purity and joy and glory. I hope and pray that my daughter’s beauty will always come from the purity and reverence of her life, from the godliness of her soul, from her wisdom that comes from knowing Jesus, from her respect and value for her own true femininity, and from the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit in communion with the Lord . . . indeed, from the rejection of everything that 50 Shades of Grey stands for and celebrates.

– D

Written by Michael Duenes

February 8, 2015 at 8:39 pm

Posted in Duenes, Literature, Movies

Leave a Reply

