Russell and Duenes

It Won’t Even Be Worth Kindling for a Fire

leave a comment »

Later this year when the U.S. Supreme Court decides, in a 5 to 4 decision, that gay marriage is the law of the land, the only thing worth reading in the opinion will be the dissent (even better if it’s written by Justice Scalia, as it often is in these types of cases). The majority opinion will not even be worth kindling for a fire because it will simply be repeating the same old lies about marriage, children and parenthood that we’ve been hearing for years. Nothing new will be said, and certainly no true legal analysis will be provided. It will simply be another tired piece of political and social advocacy and judicial self-assertion and lawlessness, tarring those who agree with the truth about the nature and purpose of marriage as irrational bigots and simpletons akin to racists of the Jim Crow era. But now such lies will be enshrined as the supreme law of the nation. “Righteousness exalts a nation, but sin is a disgrace to any people.”

My oldest son came out for breakfast the other morning with a homemade white prize ribbon cut from paper taped to his shirt. He announced that he had just won a prize for “best dressed.” I asked him who gave him the ribbon. He replied, “I did.” Classic! The kid does like to win.

“Listen to Me, O house of Jacob, and all the remnant of the house of Israel, you who have been borne by Me from birth and have been carried from the womb.” (Isaiah 46:3). The Lord has carried His people even “from the womb.” He has borne us up throughout our lives. When we think back on our lives, this is an incredible truth. The Lord has carried me from my birth, which means He carried me through all those toddler years when my life was so vulnerable, through all the asthma attacks as a child, through the folly of my high school years when I thought it was a good idea to drink and drive, through the heartbreaking relationships, through the anxiety and depression, through the challenging circumstances of jobs and school, through a scary landing during my piloting days, through loneliness and through victory, in all the good and bad, the sicknesses and the health, the joys and sorrows, God has been carrying me, and will continue to do so. For Isaiah concludes: “Even to your old age, I will be the same. And even to your graying years, I will bear you. I have done it, and I will carry. I will bear and I will deliver.” (46:4). Thank you, Father. 

-D

Written by Michael Duenes

February 11, 2015 at 4:31 am

Leave a Reply

