Russell and Duenes

The Lord Has Let Me Live

leave a comment »

Caleb said to Joshua, “Now behold, the Lord has let me live, just as He spoke, these forty-five years, from the time that the Lordspoke this word to Moses, when Israel walked in the wilderness; and now behold, I am eighty-five years old today. I am still as strong today as I was in the day Moses sent me; as my strength was then, so my strength is now, for war and for going out and coming in.” (Josh. 14:10-11).

God’s sovereignty is seen here in a couple of ways. First, Caleb confesses that it is the Lord who has let him live these past 45 years. God has been sovereign over the days of his life, allowing him to survive. Second, and I think this is implicit, is God’s sovereignty in preserving Caleb’s strength. The fact that Caleb was as strong at age 85 as he was at age 40 is not to be seen as the product of good genes or an unusually strong constitution. Rather, I think we should see that God sovereignly kept Caleb alive and also kept the strength of his youth alive. 

Caleb then asks Joshua for a certain portion of the land, and Caleb believes he can take it, for “perhaps the Lord will be with me, and I will drive them out as the Lord has spoken.” (v.12). If the Lord, in His sovereign power, is with Caleb, then Caleb will prevail. And indeed He does.

-D

Written by Michael Duenes

April 30, 2015 at 4:39 am

Leave a Reply

