Russell and Duenes

Pharaoh, Anthony Kennedy, and the Almighty

leave a comment »

Consider the following statements:

“Pharaoh said, ‘Who is the Lord that I should obey His voice to let Israel go? I do not know the Lord, and besides, I will not let Israel go.’” (Exodus 5:2).

“At the heart of liberty is the right to define one’s own concept of existence, of meaning, of the universe, and of the mystery of human life.” (U.S. Supreme Court Justice, Anthony Kennedy)

“For the Lord of hosts has purposed, and who will annul it? His hand is stretched out, and who will turn it back? . . . I am God, and there is no other; I am God, and there is none like me, declaring the end from the beginning and from ancient times things not yet done, saying, ‘My counsel shall stand, and I will accomplish all my purpose.’” (The Triune God of the Universe)

When I consider these words, and what Justice Kennedy might say in the gay marriage case, my mind goes to St. Peter’s rebuttal to the so-called rulers of his day: “Whether it is right in the sight of God to listen to you rather than to God, you must judge.” The Word of God stands fast forever, and those who love and trust Christ will gladly stand upon it.

-D

 

Written by Michael Duenes

May 4, 2015 at 6:43 pm

Leave a Reply

