Russell and Duenes

Mike Pence: A Suggested Statement for Withdrawing as Republican Vice-Presidential Candidate

leave a comment »

I don’t know a whole lot about Mike Pence, Donald Trump’s current running mate, but best I can tell, he considers himself a genuine follower of Jesus. I’ll assume he is.

In that case, he should never have agreed to joining the Republican ticket in the first place. In my view he has tarnished his name in doing so, and must be experiencing a good deal of cognitive and moral dissonance in trying to defend an indefensible man. This means that, should the Republican party somehow (can’t imagine how) get Trump removed as the Republican candidate, Pence is not worthy to be Trump’s replacement. He has already disqualified himself by running alongside Trump.

In that light, I believe Pence has only one proper course of action, which he should take this very day. He should get himself a press conference and announce his withdrawal as the Republican vice-presidential candidate. And he might say something along these lines:

I come before you to announce that I am withdrawing as Donald Trump’s running mate. Unfortunately, I am just now coming to my senses, and it is clear, to use biblical terms, that I need to repent in dust and ashes, as it were. I intend to do so now, sincerely and wholeheartedly. The truth is, I should never have agreed to join the Trump ticket in the first place. I was wrong to do so, and in my heart of hearts, I knew it was wrong. I knew Donald Trump’s character, and I knew that defending him was a spiritual compromise on my part. I cannot go on denigrating my Lord and Savior by standing beside Mr. Trump, politically or otherwise. I understand that in withdrawing, I have probably brought my political career to an end, but that is not half so disheartening as to think of how I would make a continual hash of my soul by continuing to stay on the Republican ticket. Jesus has taken care of me with great generosity all of my life, and He will continue to do so, whatever the future holds for me and my family. I will go on trusting Jesus, humbly and in repentance and gratitude. And for that reason, I am no longer the Republic vice-presidential candidate. Thank you. 

-D

Written by Michael Duenes

October 9, 2016 at 5:58 am

Leave a Reply

