Russell and Duenes

I Delight to Do Your Will, O God

leave a comment »

“I delight to do you will, O my God; your law is within my heart.” (Ps. 40:8)

“Behold, you delight in truth in the inward being.” (Ps. 51:6)

“For the eyes of the LORD roam throughout the earth to show Himself strong for those whose hearts are completely His. (2 Chron. 16:9)

“This people honors me with their lips, but their hearts are far from me.” (Matt. 15:8)

“He is not a Jew who is one outwardly . . . but he is a Jew who is one inwardly.” (Rom. 2:28-29)

One of the biggest things I am working on with my sons these days is their hearts. They break the rules of our house not because they are ignorant of them, or forgetful, or incapable of obeying them; but rather, because in their hearts they don’t delight in the rules. When they are caught in their violation, they are not contrite and repentant, they are inwardly (and outwardly) defiant and upset that they got caught, for they would have liked to have gone on doing their own thing. They do not delight in truth in their inward beings.

So it is with us in our sins. I explained to my oldest son that God has no interest in us honoring Him with our mouths, but having hearts that are far from Him. Rather, we should desire to be brought to the place where we can say, like the Psalmist, “I delight to do your will, O God.” Dallas Willard said we had to have our “wanters” fixed, that is, the “want to” of our hearts needs to be altered, so that we look forward with longing to practicing God’s commands, and not merely for outward show or conformity. This is the central thing with us.

King David was “a man after God’s own heart.” I want to be that man also. I pray that my sons would become those men, for such men are righteous men; and as Reb Saunders said in The Chosen, “the world needs a righteous man.”

-D

Written by Michael Duenes

April 28, 2017 at 3:57 am

Posted in Duenes, Psalms

Leave a Reply

