Russell and Duenes

Sing to God

leave a comment »

“Sing to God, sing praises to his name; lift up a song to him who rides through the deserts.” (Psalm 68:4)

As I’ve been reading through the Psalms, I am seeing this a lot, namely, the command to sing to God. I rarely sing to God. I don’t like modern “praise and worship” music, so I don’t really listen to it at home. It strikes me mostly as trite and unworthy of the greatness of God. Some of it is sensual to the point of being offensive.

But if I don’t sing at home, I am reduced to singing on Sundays, and even then, it’s “praise and worship” music. I still sing it, but it seems to me that the music has devolved since I became a Christian back in the early 90s.

Moreover, these many commands in the Psalms to “sing to God” certainly mean that my heart should be overflowing with the greatness of God, and this should just inevitably result in musical praise. I find that I have a dullness of heart problem. It’s not that I never want to sing to God, but I find that my heart is tepid, and thus, song, or the desire for song, does not overflow from me. And again, I am no songwriter, or at least I never have been.

“Oh magnify the Lord with me, and let us exalt His name together.” (Psalm 34:3).

I don’t know what to do with these Psalms. I would ask you, Lord, to help me see you more clearly, so that a proper exuberance and praise would be in my heart for you. Help me to find ways to sing praise to you. For you are worthy of it.

-D

Written by Michael Duenes

May 11, 2017 at 4:09 am

Posted in Duenes, Psalms

Leave a Reply

