Russell and Duenes

Tell of His Salvation

leave a comment »

Sing to the Lord, bless his name; tell of his salvation from day to day. Declare his glory among the nations, his marvelous works among all the peoples! (Psalm 96:2-3)

I’ve already mentioned the difficulties I often have “singing to the LORD.” I actually enjoy doing so, but find that the songs are missing.

But here I was struck by the words: “Tell of his salvation from day to day.” I think of my experience. I tell my kids things about God each day, but I don’t know that this includes telling of his “salvation.” I think there’s an objective telling here, meaning, we are to tell others about the saving works God does and how he does them. So telling others about God’s deeds in the Scriptures might fall under this.

But it seems there is a subjective component too. I should be speaking of God’s saving work in my own life. This is the part I don’t do “from day to day.” I don’t speak to my wife, children, neighbors or friends of God’s saving work in my life each day. So this is an area for repentance. Yet I don’t want to see it as a burden, one more thing to “check off the list” spiritually. It would seem the Psalmist is so caught up in the greatness of God and his salvation that he just naturally tells people to speak of it.

And this is not simply a local task. We are to be declaring God’s glory and marvelous deeds among all the nations, all the peoples. It is a message that should burst forth the world over. Tell of God’s glory and his great saving power far and wide.

Again, all of this is written to the people of Israel, and assumes, or exhorts, them to be the kind of people who know and cherish the greatness of God and his work in them, and thus, to exuberantly sing and speak about it to the nations. O God, make us, your church, the same. Give us such hearts, such exuberance at knowing and experiencing you. Open wide our mouths and send us to tell of your glory among the nations.

-D

Written by Michael Duenes

May 25, 2017 at 4:12 am

Posted in Duenes, Psalms

Leave a Reply

