Russell and Duenes

That I Might Not Sin Against You

leave a comment »

Then I shall not be put to shame…that I might not sin against you… that I may live and keep your word…that I may behold wondrous things out of your law…that I may keep your law and observe it with my whole heart…that you may be feared…then shall I have an answer for him who taunts me…that I might learn your statutes…that I may learn your commandments…that I may live…that I may keep the testimonies of your mouth…that I may be safe and have regard for your statutes continually…that I may know your testimonies

In Psalm 119, these are some of the reasons why the author wants God and His commandments in his life. The Psalmist wants these results. We should consider our own lives and ask whether these are results we want as well, as we come to God’s word. Notice the blend of “learning God’s statutes and commands” and “keeping God’s commands.” We should desire to learn them, but also to keep them. God’s word has a primacy for the Psalmist. May it have primacy for us too. In Augustine’s famous words: “Take up and read!”

-D

Written by Michael Duenes

June 9, 2017 at 3:51 am

Posted in Duenes, Psalms

Leave a Reply

